top of page

Welcome to my new blog!

Howdy!

If you're here then you probably already know that I'm Otis Frampton and I'm a writer/artist/animator/blah blah blah.

I've created a new website (I hope you like the new digs) and with that comes a new blog. I'm hoping to use this blog a lot more than I did with the last one. I'll be posting videos, behind the scenes stuff and more. I may even use this blog to discuss some important personal stories from the past year that helped me find my way back to writing and drawing again. If my story can help others who have struggled with the same issues, I think I should share. We'll see. I'm still trying to decide if I want to. Stay tuned.

Ultimately, I'd like to try to use this blog to share things about my work that I don't post to Twitter or Instagram (you are following me on Twitter and Instagram, right?). So please stop back often!

For my first post I'm going to share some new artwork that I haven't posted anywhere else. Well, I have shown them on Instagram, but only as photos of my iPad screen. Here are the actual images:

These were drawn in Procreate on the iPad Pro (my favorite drawing and painting app on that platform). They are warm-ups that I've used to start the work day and play a little bit. They feature a character I call "Doughboy Joe." I created him last year when I was testing out the iPad Pro to see if I could create After Effects-like animation using only two iPad apps; Procreate and DoInk's Animation app. Here is a video showing the final animation as well as some of the processes involved:

The test was somewhat successful. I was able to do pretty much what I set out to do. Creating and exporting the art assets in Procreate was the easy part. But it took a lot of tricking the Animation app into doing what I wanted it to do as opposed to what it was designed to do. Bottom line... that app isn't quite there yet. Maybe someday.

In the meantime, I'll keep drawing this little guy and coming up with fun sci-fi situations in which to feature him. I've been doing these pieces in black and white to focus on values and keep things simple. When I start to color, I dive in and it takes up a lot of time. These are warm-ups, so the K.I.S.S. rule applies.

Thanks for reading and see you next time!

-Otis

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page